CLASSIC FM. Prokofiev Concertos

October 2005

Piano Concertos Nos 1-5
Oleg Marshev (piano); South Jutland SO/Niklas Willйn
Danacord DACOCD 584-585

This set is a revelation. Instead of the routinely hard-edged piano sound that so many pianists bring to these works, Marshev offers a rounded, beautiful tone that genuinely draws you into the music, while in no way undercutting its virtuoso drive. In the Second Concerto’s massively difficult opening movement, Marshev’s command amazes, as does his deft touch with the attractive and rarely heard Fourth (for left hand only). The orchestral accompaniments, too, are seriously good.

Malcolm Hayes